Submissions for the 2023 Awards are now closed!

Carol Combs Hole provided exemplary leadership on behalf of libraries, bookmobile and outreach services throughout her 32 year career as a professional public librarian. Carol freely shared her ideas, knowledge and sense of humor with bookmobile and outreach staff.

In 1989, Carol published The Bookmobile Songbook.  The dedication states: "This book is dedicated to: The Road Warriors who daily start their engines and sally forth from public libraries everywhere to raise the library flag on new beachheads,  and to Bernard Vavrek the only Library School Professor in America who cares about them." She sought to share wisdom so that the profession would continue to grow.  She retired from distinguished service to the Alachua County Library District on March 1, 2006 and died on October 1, 2007.

Criteria for Selecting Award Recipients

 The Carol Combs Hole Conference Attendance Award Committee will consider the following criteria in the selection of the recipient of this award:

  • The applicant must be employed in a public library, working in bookmobile or outreach services at the time the application is submitted.
  • The completed application form and attached narrative must be received prior to the deadline printed on the form.
  • The award winner is not eligible to apply for the award again for five years.
  • The applicant does not need to be a member of the Association of Bookmobile and Outreach Services.

Winners will receive free conference registration and $500 towards travel and accommodations expenses. 

Thank you to Acore Shelving for generously sponsoring five of these awards.

To submit your 2023 Carol Hole Conference Attendance Award, please click HERE.

The 2023 ABOS Awards Program will open on March 31, 2023 and close on July 28, 2023 at 5 p.m. CST.

Questions about the 2023 ABOS Awards Program can be directed to Kassy Trejo, 2023 ABOS Awards Committee Chair, at

Association of Bookmobile & Outreach Services

1190 Meramec Station Road, Suite 207

Ballwin, MO  63021-6902

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software