Bernard Vavrek Scholarship

One of the purposes of the Association of Bookmobile and Outreach Services is “to contribute to the education and training of library staff working in the area of bookmobile and outreach services.” To help fulfill this goal, ABOS created the Bernard Vavrek Scholarship. This scholarship honors Dr. Vavrek’s profound commitment to library science and, in particular, bookmobile and outreach services.

Dr. Bernard Vavrek, Professor of Library Science, Chair of the Library Science Department at Clarion University, retired after teaching at Clarion from 1971-2008. He co-founded with John Philip the “Great American Bookmobile Conference,” running it for many years until ABOS was formed and took over management of the conference.

Awarded annually to a student who is currently enrolled and has completed at least one semester in a Library and/or Information Science graduate degree program, and who is interested in this particular field within the library profession.

The amount of $1,000 will be awarded annually to a qualified Library and/or Information Science student, which will be sent directly to the ALA accredited library school. In addition, the recipient will receive complimentary conference registration to the ABOS Annual Conference during the year they are selected.

A complete nomination should include:

  • The applicant must currently be enrolled and have completed at least one semester in an ALA-accredited library and/or information science graduate degree program.
  • The applicant must maintain a grade point average of 3.0 or better. 
  • The applicant must demonstrate an interest in outreach/bookmobile librarianship. 
  • Your name and contact information including mailing address, phone number, and email address.
  • The name and contact information of the ALA accredited library school which the student is attending.
  • A copy of the student’s most recent transcript showing a grade point average of 3.0 or better (transcript can be unofficial).
  • A personal narrative showcasing the student’s interest in outreach/bookmobile librarianship.
  • A narrative describing how the student hopes to contribute to the field of Bookmobile and Outreach Services once graduated from library school.
  • Two (2) letters of recommendation.

One (1) Bernard Vavrek Scholarship will be presented in 2024.

Click here to submit your 2024 Bernard Vavrek Scholarship application.

Questions about the 2024 ABOS Awards Program can be directed to the ABOS Awards Committee.

Click on the icons to follow us on social media

Association of Bookmobile & Outreach Services

1190 Meramec Station Road, Suite 207

Ballwin, MO  63021-6902

Phone: 563.286.0864

© Assocation of Bookmobile & Outreach Services

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software